:: Fort Worth Programs

The Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

#17212 : "Single Course/3 Nights - Dbl $1375 + Sgl $438"

05/31/2013 - 06/05/2013
06/05/2013 - 06/10/2013

Register at the Road Scholar web site (opens in a new window)

The prestigious Van Cliburn competition — named for the young American who won the first ever International Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow at the height of the Cold War — brings together 30 aspiring pianists from around the world to compete for three years of managed concert tours worth more than $1 million. Choose between attending the Semi-final or Final Round, meet Van Cliburn Foundation staff, learn about the competition repertoire with a professor of music, go behind the scenes at Fort Worth’s crown jewel, Bass Performance Hall, and feel the passionate excitement.

Highlights • A music professor shares fascinating perspectives on the challenges for these young artists — who you choose to see perform in the semifinals or the final round. • Meet a past winner of the Van Cliburn Foundation’s Amateur Competition and hear about doors opened as a result of that success. • Explore beautiful Bass Performance Hall and attend concerts featuring semifinalists with the world-renowned Brentano String Quartet or finalists with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra conducted by Leonard Slatkin.

Program Notes Register to attend both semifinal and final rounds using program # 18111 The Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth and receive $200 off.

Date Notes 5/31/2013 This program date presents the Semi-final Round Competition – Hear the 12 semi-finalists as they each play a solo recital, a newly commissioned work, and perform with the acclaimed Brentano String Quartet. You will also be present for the announcement of which six will advance to the finals.

6/5/2013 This program date presents the Final Round Competition – Hear the six finalists as they each perform a solo recital and two concerti with the Ft. Worth Symphony Orchestra led by internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin. You will also attend symposia about conducting and judging criteria and be present at the awards ceremony when this year’s winner is named.

Coordinated by University of Texas at Austin.