CIE Celebrates the Exemplary Migrant Students of 2013


The Migrant Student Graduation Enhancement Program held its 26th annual Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony on April 15 at the Texas Union Ballroom on the main campus of The University of Texas at Austin. The 2013 ceremony honored 40 exemplary migrant students for their academic achievements and successful completion of distance learning courses through the Migrant Student Graduation Enhancement Program in the K-16 Education Center, a department of the Division of Continuing and Innovative Education. The event was attended by approximately 300 guests, including migrant students from 20 Texas school districts, parents, teachers, counselors and administrators.

This year, five students, including "Students of the Year" Armando Garza and Xavier Zamora,” received college scholarships funded by a gift from ExxonMobil for their academic excellence, talent and hard work. The remaining scholarships were awarded to Edna Gaytan of La Joya High School in La Joya, Texas, Jasmine Leos of Lopez High School in Brownsville, Texas, and the Creative Award Winner Ivan Ramirez of Edinburg North High School in Edinburg, Texas.

View the gallery from the 2013 Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony below.

The ceremony culminated with each of the students being given their own personal Apple iPad. The iPads were donated to the program through a generous donation made on behalf of the Dr. Linda Glessner Memorial Fund. As part of this donation, the students were also each presented with two books ("My Antonia" and "Death Comes for the Archbishop") written by Willa Cather, Dr. Glessner's favorite author. The late Dr. Glessner was previously the executive director of Continuing and Innovative Education.

Related articles:

Click an image below to open a larger image from the 2013 Exemplary Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony.


Information Session Information Session Information Session Donated Books 26th Anniversary Medals
Surprise Gift Framed Certificates Texas Cowboys Tex-Mex Conjunto Ensemble Dr. Juan C. González
Dr. Judith G. Loredo Exemplary Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony Christopher Castillo Creative Award Edna Gaytan
Jasmine Leos Armando Garza Xavier Zamora iPad Donation The Eyes of Texas
Armando Garza Armando Garza Armando Garza, Xavier Zamora Xavier Zamora Xavier Zamora


Tags: xavier zamora, students of the year, scholarship, migrant student recognition ceremony, migrant student program, migrant student graduation enhancement program, migrant, luz hinojosa, lorna harrison, linda glessner, k-16 education center, jeff treichel, armando garza, ,