Students honored at 2010 Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony


Outstanding high school migrant students from across Texas were recognized on March 29 at the 23rd annual Migrant Student Recognition Ceremony at The University of Texas at Austin. Forty students and their families were honored for their supreme efforts to balance a migrant life while maintaining academic excellence through CIE’s Migrant Student Graduation Enhancement Program.

Texas has the largest interstate migrant student population and the second-largest migrant education program in the nation. Students and their families migrate annually from Texas to 48 other states to work in agricultural and other seasonal jobs. Since its inception more than two decades ago, the Migrant Student Program has provided flexible courses and support services to more than 25,000 students to help them maintain their studies while traveling with their families to harvest our nation’s crops. The program is made possible with funding from the Texas Education Agency and gifts from the Beaumont Foundation of America, the Exxon Mobil Foundation, the John G. and Marie Stella Kenedy Memorial Foundation and the Microsoft Corporation.

At the ceremony, Texas State Representative Aaron Peña, D-Edinburg, presented five of the students with $2,000 college scholarships provided by the Exxon Mobil Foundation. These scholarships were awarded to Students of the Year Rogelio Ortizand Sofia Velazquez; Exemplary Migrant Students Carlissa Garcia and Jacklyn Rodriguez; and Creative Award Winner Rubi Valencia.

Here is a complete list of the 2010 Exemplary Migrant Students:

  • Laura Alcaraz, Taylor High School, Taylor, TX

  • Marco Aleman, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo North High School, Pharr, Texas

  • Monica Arroyo, Fort Hancock High School, Fort Hancock, TX

  • Vanessa Bautista, Palmview High School, Mission, TX

  • Kenya Benavidez, Simon Rivera High School, Brownsville, TX

  • Daniel Berrios, Olton High School, Olton, TX

  • Hector Castillo, Donna High School, Donna, TX

  • Ezequiel Chapa, Mission High School, Mission, TX

  • Eduardo Colunga, Lopez High School, Brownsville, TX

  • Carlissa Garcia, La Joya High School, La Joya, TX

  • Iris Garcia, Palmview High School, Mission, TX

  • Judith Garcia, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Memorial High School, Alamo, TX

  • Crystal Garza, La Feria High School, La Feria, TX

  • Anna Gutierrez, Irving High School, El Paso, TX

  • Jessica Hernandez, Homer Hanna High School, Brownsville, TX

  • Juan Hernandez, Fabens High School, Fabens, TX

  • Dominique Lopez, Juarez-Lincoln High School, La Joya, TX

  • Erika Lopez, McAllen Memorial High School, McAllen, TX

  • Antonio Lopez, Weslaco East High School, Weslaco, TX

  • Hector Luna, Levelland High School, Levelland, TX

  • Jorge Magaña, Jr., Edinburg North High School, Edinburg, TX

  • Ariana Martinez, Eagle Pass High School, Eagle Pass, TX

  • Moises Martinez, Edinburg High School, Edinburg, TX

  • Italy Montemayor, Phar-San Juan-Alamo North High School, Pharr, TX

  • Steffani Muñoz, Mary Carroll High School, Corpus Christi, TX

  • Lucia Murguia, La Joya High School, La Joya, TX

  • Rogelio Ortiz, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo High School, San Juan, TX

  • Jovan Pineda, Memphis High School, Memphis, TX

  • Jacklyn Rodriguez, Eagle Pass High School, Eagle Pass, TX

  • Alejandra Rojas, Robert E. Lee High School, Baytown, TX

  • Diana Rostro, Harlingen High School, Harlingen, TX

  • Cassandra Sanchez, United South High School, Laredo, TX

  • Cynthia Sepulveda, C.C. Winn High School, Eagle Pass, TX

  • Jessica Sigala, Robert E. Lee High School, Baytown, TX

  • Sonia Silva, Weslaco High School, Weslaco, TX

  • Victor Silva, Gladys Porter High School, Brownsville, TX

  • Aissa Torres, The University of Texas at Austin Online High School, Austin, TX

  • Jose Vega, Port Isabel High School, Port Isabel, TX

  • Rubi Valencia , Olton High School, Olton, TX

  • Sofia Velazquez, Johnny G. Economedes High School, Edinburg, TX

Subscribe to this blog for more stories on the Migrant Student Program.


Tags: students, representative aaron peña, migrant student recognition ceremony, migrant student program, migrant, k-16 education center,